Assamese Mains Syllabus

Assamese Mains Syllabus:

Answers must be written in Assamese

  • Paper I
  • Paper II
  • Paper I:

    Section A: Language

    History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo-Aryan Languages-periods in its history.

    Developments of Assamese prose.

    Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on the Assamese coming down from Old Indo-Aryan.

    Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.

    Morphology of the language-conjugation-enclitic definitives and pleonastic suffixes. Dialectical divergences-the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.

    Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A.D.

    Section B:  Literary Criticism & Literary History

    Principles of Literary criticism up to New criticism.

    Different literary genres.

    Development of literary forms in the Assamese.

    Development of literary criticism in the Assamese.

    Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings, i.e. from the period of the charyyageets with their socio-cultural background: the proto Assamese-Pre-SankaradevaSankaradeva-post SankaradevaModern period (from the coming of the Britishers)-Post-Independence period. Special emphasis is to be given on the Vaishnavite period, the gonaki and the post-Independence period.


Paper II:

Section A:

Ramayana (Ayodhya Kanda only)-by Madhava Kandali.

Parijat-Harana-by Sankaradeva.

Rasakrida-by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).

Borgeet-by Madhavadeva

Rajasuya-by Madhavadeva.

Katha-Bhagavata (Books I and II)-by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya.

Guru Charitra-Katha (Sankaradeva's Part only)-ed. by Maheswar Neog.


Mor Jeevan Sonwaran-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

Kripabar Barbaruar Kakatar Topola-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

Pratima-by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.

Gaonburha-by Padmanath Gohain Barua.

Monamati-by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.

Purani Asamiya Sahitya-by Banikanta Kakati.

Karengar Ligiri-by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla

Jeevanar Batat-by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)

Mrityunjoy-by Birendrakumar


Samrat-by Navakanta Barua.